Skip to main content

How to resolve the "Error" status — Volkswagen Group OEM

In the Volkswagen Group OEM integration, vehicles send data to our system through the vehicle’s built-in telematics system.

If you see the "Error" status, this could mean the Privacy mode was not disabled.


How to disable "Privacy mode"

If Privacy Mode is enabled in the vehicle, data sharing is blocked and no data can be received and you will see the “Errorstatus in the Volkswagen Group OEM integration.

To fix this, you will need to disable Privacy Mode in the vehicle settings and try again:

  1. Find your type of vehicle and click the instructions to download them.

  2. Follow the instructions in that manual.

  3. Go back to our platform Integrations -> Volkswagen Group OEM.

  4. Click "Retry", on the "Activation" column

After this, you will see "Registration in progress" status, and if the issue was resolved it should turn into the "Active" status.

📘Once a vehicle is marked as Active, our agreement with the Volkswagen Group locks in data sharing for that vehicle. This means that re-enabling Privacy Mode afterwards would not affect data sharing. Data sharing will only stop if the vehicle is unregistered from the integration.

🔔 If the retry was not successful and it shows the "Error" status again, the issue was not resolved. Please try again.


If after repeated trying the issue still does not resolve, please reach out to our support team.

✅ You can find more information about Privacy Mode settings in the Volkswagen Group documentation page. It also includes helpful guides and downloadable documents about their service and privacy mode.


Primary User Error

There is also the possibility of an Error status showing up because of a Primary user error during activation. This happens when the vehicle is enrolled with a Primary User in the manufacturer's system.

The impact of Primary User enrollment varies between vehicles.

For some vehicle makes, models, and model years, having a Primary User does not prevent enrollment in the integration. For others, it does.

This behavior is determined by Volkswagen Group and may change over time as they continue developing and improving their solution.

⚠️ To resolve the issue, you will need to follow Volkswagen Group's instructions to remove the Primary User, which requires a factory reset of the vehicle.

For B2B customers

  • If no Primary User is enrolled: No changes will occur.

  • If a Primary User is enrolled: The Primary User will be removed, and data transmission will resume.

For B2C customers

  • If a Primary User is enrolled, all vehicle-related data associated with Volkswagen's consumer services will be permanently deleted.

  • The connection between the vehicle and Volkswagen's consumer services will be removed. To use those services again, they will need to be set up again.

To resolve the issue:

  1. Follow Volkswagen Group's instructions, here.

  2. Go back to our platform, Integrations -> Volkswagen Group OEM

  3. On the "Activation" column, click "Deactivate" (for the vehicle with the error).

  4. After it's deactivated, click "Add vehicle" on the top right corner.

  5. Enter your vehicle's VIN and registration number.

  6. Mark the checkbox to confirm you have read and agree to the disclaimer.

  7. Click Submit at the bottom.

📘If you do not wish to perform the factory reset required to remove the Primary User, the vehicle cannot be connected through the integration.

If you wish to remove the vehicle (with the "primary user" error) from integration view, please reach out to our support with a vehicle removal request.


Enrollment already exists

You may see the error:

"No data can be received. An active enrollment already exists for this vehicle, so it cannot be connected again. Delete the vehicle from the list."

This error means the vehicle is already enrolled in the Volkswagen Group integration somewhere else — either on another Mapon account or in a totally different platform.

🔔VW only allows one active connection per vehicle at a time, so it can't be linked in two places.

Make sure the vehicle is only onboarded in one place — VW doesn't allow the same vehicle to be connected in two integrations at once.

What you can do:

  1. Remove/disconnect the vehicle from the other platform or account first.

  2. Delete it from Mapon's integration with Volkswagen Group OEM.

Did this answer your question?